Drunk Driving a Costly, Deadly Gamble in Alabama

We often talk about the deadly risks associated with drunk driving. But if you’re one of the lucky ones who manage to stay out of an accident, you still run the risk of getting busted, having a criminal record and forking over thousands of dollars.According to MSN Money, a drunken-driving conviction will cost you thousands of dollars in fines, attorney’s fees and higher insurance premiums.

Our Montgomery accident lawyers understand that convictions for a first DWI/DUI carry penalties of a fine ($600-$2,100). If you’re busted in a second conviction, you’re looking at fines of more than $5,000. Additionally, potential jail time, increased insurance premiums, possible job loss and a permanent criminal record await those convicted.

So what are all these costs for?

DUI Classes:

You may be required to take a class on the dangers of drunken driving, and you’ll have to pay for it.

License Fees:

For a first-time conviction, you could have your driver’s license suspended for 90 days. And don’t think they’ll just hand it back to you when those 90 days are up. You’re going to have to pay to get that back.

Attorney Fees:

Yes, if you want the proper representation, that’s going to cost you, too.

Insurance Hikes:

With a drunk driving conviction on your record, insurance companies are going to see you as a greater liability, and they’re going to make you pay for it. According to recent statistics, you increase will average a 20 percent hike. Many report insurance premiums that nearly double.

Ignition Interlocks:

The Alabama Ignition Interlock statute became effective on September 1, 2012. Enacted by the 2011 Alabama legislature, this statute adds significant “after conviction” supervision and control processes by the sentencing court. All DUI convictions entered by an Alabama court on or after September 1, 2012 are subject to the new “ignition interlock” statute. You can be sentenced to an interlock device if you refuse to provide blood alcohol concentration, if you have a child under the age of 14 in your vehicle when the arrest occurs, or if someone else besides the drunk driver was injured in the accident.

In the state of Alabama, there were close to 300 people killed in drunk driving car accidents in 2011. According to The Century Council, there were more than 13,000 people arrested for driving under the influence. More than 80 of those arrests were of drivers under the age of 18.

The risks just aren’t worth it. Stay sober behind the wheel this summer and talk to your family and friends about the risks.

If you or someone you love has been injured in a car accident, call Allred & Allred P.C. at 334.396.9200 to speak with a personal injury attorney today.

More Blog Entries:

Alabama Teen Driver Deaths Spike in 2012, Alabama Injury Lawyer Blog, March 5, 2013

Report: Alabama Car Accident Prevention Laws Need Improvement, Alabama Injury Lawyer Blog, January 27, 2013

Contact Information